Skip to content

Can You And Everyone Else Get Me The Same Thing?

September 9, 2012

You ask your server for some extra sauce for your food. Naturally, you’re too impatient to wait for your server to return so you annoyingly ask ME for a side of sauce. When I return to your table, I notice the sauce that you had asked your server for has already made it back to the table. Please let me thank you for wasting my time by smashing this chair over your head.

If you ask your server to get you something and you don’t get it right away, just be patient and remind your server again in a few minutes. If you ask several people for the same thing, you’re just wasting their time and your going to be marked as “that table” and everyone’s going to ignore you and your 5 extra sauces.

From → Lame "Guests"

10 Comments
  1. I think your blog is hilarious. I’ve been a waitress, HATED it, and love your humor.

  2. Wait, so you’re saying that 10 seconds isn’t too short of a time to wait for what takes a human being 30 seconds to go get? But why can’t you teleport to get em what I want?

    • Haha. No kidding! Some people really think 10 seconds is a lifetime. Beam me up Scotty, and bring the ketchup!!

  3. Alan permalink

    while I agree with you, I’m also wondering how long you think customers should wait? I’ve asked servers for something and they agree to get it for you and then promptly forget. You can tell, because they’re off serving other people, wandering around and doing everything but getting what you’ve asked. In these circumstances I think it’s foolish not to ask again, or ask a different server for the same thing. There’s certainly impatient customers, but there’s also forgetful staff.

    • I usually wait a few minutes before I ask again. I have been guilty of occasionally forgetting to bring stuff to the table. Its usually the “guests” who are constantly asking for things that I tend to forget about. Unfortunately this situation happens more often than not. Too many impatient customers who need whatever it is they want, right then and there. They keep asking every other person they see until they end up with a whole lot of extra crap they dont need sitting on the table. Awesome.

    • Mishka permalink

      @Alan… if it’s something you’re asking that’s free of charge, wait. If it’s something that is an extra charge (ie. another beer, wine, etc) WAIT until your server comes back to you, and THEN bitch to antoher person if it has been more than 2 seconds.

      @Ramsey… Rule of Thumb: there should be nothing left on the tbl more than what they need, agreed.. no one tbl of two needs 3 of the same 5oz sauces..

  4. I want it, and I want it NOW! 🙂

  5. javaj240 permalink

    I run food on the weekends. When I drop the food I always ask if they need steak sauce, ketchup, extra napkins. I don’t ask about drink refills because usually our servers are on them already. At least two to three times a night somebody shakes their 50% full glass at me and whines for a drink refill. I tell them politely that I will let their sever know. They always look at me like it’s me who can’t be bothered. I don’t even explain myself anymore because I just cannot get into the fact that their server is a professional who is, surely, on top of this very basic step of service. 99% of the time I pass their server leaving the kitchen with the drink refills on my way back into the kitchen. I always confirm that they are, indeed, for “that” table. LOL. Idiots.

  6. I promise I behave at restaurants!

Leave a Reply

